高级JTAG指南

引言

JTAG是一项已经成熟的技术(和工业标准)而它的潜能如今才开始被完全发掘。连接测试和在线烧写(ISP)是两个经常与JTAG联系起来的应用,但是它还有更多的应用价值。

尽管我们不在这里强调XJTAG产品,但是它们是为了利用JTAG全部能量而设计的,并且能够实现这篇文章中描述的所有功能。

背景

JTAG是为了应对传统针床方法测试电路的困难而构想的。现在封装技术例如BGA和芯片尺寸封装限制了,甚至在有些情况下阻止了针脚*的物理访问。

简易的JTAG设备

图1:简易的JTAG设备

JTAG通过在外部连接和设备内部逻辑之间放置单元格来克服这个问题,参见图1。当单元格被设置成移位寄存器时,JTAG可以被用来设定和检索针脚的数值(和与之相连的网的值)而无须直接物理访问。

还有一个可以在设备正常运作时采集在核心逻辑与引脚间传递的数据的数值的选项。

JTAG接口在每个设备上额外增加了四个引脚:用来向设备输入数据的TDI,用来输出设备数据的TDO,用来控制如何处理数据和时钟信号的TMS,用来同步一切的TCK。

如果一个设备要兼容JTAG,它的厂商就必须提供一个描述JTAG方面在这个设备里如何运作的BSDL(边界扫描描述语言)文件。

如果一个电路包含一个以上的JTAG兼容设备,这些设备就可以被连接在一起形成一个JTAG链。I在一个JTAG链中,第一个设备的数据输出是第二个设备的数据输入 ;链中所有设备拥有共同的控制和时钟信号。图2展现了一个含有三个设备的简易JTAG链的图示。

Simple JTAG chain

图2:简易JTAG链

*针脚既用来描述设备的铅连接也可以描述BGA的焊锡球连接。

球栅阵列(BGA)

BGA device

图3:BGA设备

如图3所示,BGA封装不同于早期封装技术,因为它所有的外部连接都是通过设备底面与电路板之间的焊球来构成的而不是通过设备旁侧伸出的引脚。

含有BGA封装设备的电路测试一直是普及JTAG测试的推动力之一。因为设备与电路板的连接既不能被物理访问,也不能被肉眼检查,唯一替代JTAG而监控制造完整性的方法是X光检测。这项昂贵、费时的流程需要把每个板卡都做X光透视,然后通过审视图像来检查每个焊球是否被正确放置,与板卡接触,而没有扩散进而造成短路。X光虽可以提供有用的信息,但它仍然依赖于人工或者自动的目视检查,所以不能被完全信任来定位所有的错误。

在这一背景下,JTAG边界扫描不只是针床测试的有用替代品;它是能消除昂贵并且可能无结果的X射线技术的需求的重要省钱工具。

链的完备性测试

JTAG测试既可以很基本也可以很高级。最基本的测试是链完备性测试,即测试JTAG链中应该有的JTAG设备真实存在。

大部分JTAG兼容设备含有ID码,因此可以被用来测试设备是否放置恰、JTAG链是否被正确连接。不含有ID码的设备总是返回一个数值为零的单一位;所以可以检测JTAG链来验证含有码和没有ID码的器件的正确序列。

连接测试

连接测试实例

图4:连接测试实例

连接或者互联测试检查电路中启用了JTAG的部件周围的连接。这些被称为网的连接可以有四类故障;短路,开路,固定和提拉电阻故障。图4展示出了这些故障的实例。

JTAG链测试只在JTAG兼容设备间的网上进行完全检测故障,即信号从源头设置,然后从终端读取来检测开路故障。(只有一个启用JTAG的连接的网依然可以进行短路故障测试。)专业边界扫描检测工具可以自动生成非常广泛的测试模式来实现连接测试,经常需要极少的人工干预。

在生产校验过程中,连接测试是一个无价的工具。每一个生产出来的电路都可以被检查是否含有设备连接器焊接短路之类因制造错误而产生的生产故障。当涉及BGA设备时,很少有机会去目测检查或者去物理探测连接处,这时JTAG连接的价值就显而易见。

非JTAG设备测试

电路中非JTAG兼容的部分也可以被测试。无论哪里有非JTAG兼容设备共享JTAG兼容设备所连接的网,非JTAG兼容设备的输入都可以由JTAG控制。同样,非JTAG兼容设备的输出可以通过JTAG设备读回。因此,设计者对非JTAG兼容部分预期操作的理解将会允许他通过JTAG来构建和执行运行设备功能的测试。

这种测试形式既可以应用于单一非JTAG器件上也可以用于任何电路中可以当作功能单元看的非JTAG器件的集合上。这种方法的一个重要例子是储存测试。一系列产生的测试信号被用来操纵控制信号、储存设备的地址和数据总线从而可以往储存里写信息;第二系列产生的测试号则被用来把这个信息读回。

在线烧写

很多现代搭载JTAG可编程的设备例如FPGA和CPLD不仅有助于边界扫描测试,而且当装在PCB上时还允许通过附加的功能来编程。

其它设备例如闪存储存器则可以通过与JTAG链中相连的设备来间接编程。

使用JTAG在线编写设备的能力避免了购买昂贵的编程器和插口的需要。还有一点好处就是可以容易地更新设备里存留的储存image。

可测试性设计

在电路的整个生产周期中JTAG都是一个宝贵的工具。JTAG可以帮助设计者、生产测试工程师和现场测试工程师。

效果取决于JTAG测试套件所能达到的覆盖率。尽管潜能的一部分是电路中所固有的,但设计者在可测试性设计中的考虑也可使它最大化。

全套的可测试性设计指引可以从XJTAG网站上获得。不管怎样,作为起点首先确保所有JTAG兼容设备正确连接,以及一个恰当的测试访问端口(TAP)都被设计进入电路中。

资源

JTAG Technical Overview, TAP signals, Boundary Scan Instructions

JTAG技术指南

入门级JTAG实现


什么是JTAG?

什么是JTAG?

那么,我怎么样才能利用它呢?


可测试性设计(DFT)指引

可测试性设计(DFT)指引

提高电路测试性能的建议


circuit design, development, manufacturing, service

使用XJTAG进行JTAG测试

了解XJTAG如何扩展JTAG的潜力


Boundary-Scan Description Language

边界扫描描述语言(BSDL)文件

制造商网址的链接


Memory testing

非JTAG器件的测试


JTAG, SVF

串行矢量格式(SVF)文件

Want to be the first to know of new eBooks and JTAG Resources?

Find out how XJTAG can help you test your PCB faster
From Prototype To Manufacture

High-level Guide to JTAG

Introduction

JTAG is an established technology (and industry standard) with a potential that is only now becoming fully realised. Connection testing and In System Programming (ISP) are the two applications most often associated with JTAG, but it has far more to offer.

Though we don’t highlight XJTAG products here, they are designed to harness the full power of JTAG and are able to implement all of the functionality described in this document.

Background

JTAG was conceived to address difficulties in testing circuits using the traditional ‘bed-of-nails’ approach. Modern packaging technologies such as BGA and Chip Scale Packaging limit and in some cases eliminate physical access to pins*.

Simple JTAG Device

Figure 1 – Simple JTAG Device

JTAG overcomes this problem, by placing cells between the external connections and the internal logic of the device, see Figure 1. With the cells configured as a shift register, JTAG can be used set and retrieve the values of pins (and the nets connected to them) without direct physical access.

There’s also an option to sample the data values as they pass between the core logic and the pins during the normal operation of the device.

The JTAG interface adds four extra pins on each device: TDI to input data to the device, TDO to output data from the device, TMS to control what should be done with the data and a clock signal, TCK to synchronise everything.

For a device to be JTAG-compliant, its manufacturer must provide a BSDL (Boundary Scan Description Language) file, which describes how the JTAG aspects of the device work.

If a circuit contains more than one JTAG-compliant device, these can be linked together to form a JTAG chain. In a JTAG chain the data output from the first device becomes the data input to the second device; the control and clock signals are common to all devices in the chain. Figure 2 provides a representation of a simple JTAG chain containing three devices.

Simple JTAG chain

Figure 2- Simple JTAG chain

*The word pins will be used to describe both leaded device connections and BGA solder ball connections.

Ball Grid Array (BGA)

BGA device

Figure 3 – BGA device

A BGA package, such as that shown in Figure 3, differs from earlier package technologies in that all of its external connections are made through balls of solder between the bottom face of the device and the circuit board rather than through pins protruding from the side of the device.

The testing of circuits containing BGA packaged devices has been one of the driving forces in popularising JTAG testing. Because the connections between the device and the circuit board are inaccessible both physically and for visual inspection, the only alternative to JTAG for monitoring manufacturing integrity is X-ray inspection. This costly and time-consuming process requires that each board be X-rayed and the images inspected to check each solder ball has been correctly placed, makes contact with the board, but has not spread to cause short circuits. X-Ray provides useful information, but still relies on visual inspection, manual or automated, so cannot be fully relied on to locate all errors.

Against this background JTAG Boundary Scan is more than a useful alternative to bed-of-nails testing; it is a significant money saving tool that can eliminate the need for costly and possibly inconclusive X-ray technology.

Chain Integrity Testing

JTAG testing can be quite basic or very advanced. The most basic form of testing is chain integrity testing, i.e. testing that the JTAG devices that are meant to be in the JTAG chain actually exist.

Most JTAG-compliant devices contain an ID code that can be used to test that the devices are in place and that the JTAG chain is correctly connected. Devices that do not contain ID codes will always return a single bit with a value of 0; so that the JTAG chain can be tested for the correct sequence of devices with, and without ID codes.

Connection Testing

Connection Test Example

Figure 4 – Connection Test Example

The connection or interconnect test checks the connections around JTAG enabled components in a circuit. These connections, known as nets, can have faults in four categories; short circuit, open circuit, stuck-at, and pull-resistor faults. Examples of these faults are shown in Figure 4.

A JTAG connection test can only fully check for faults on nets between JTAG-compliant devices, where signals can be set at source and read at the destination to check for open circuit faults. (Nets with just one JTAG enabled connection can still be tested for short circuit faults.) Professional boundary scan tools are able to automate the generation of very comprehensive test patterns to implement connection testing, often with minimal manual intervention.

A connection test is an invaluable tool in the process of manufacturing validation. Each circuit that is produced can be checked for production faults caused by manufacturing errors such as solder shorting connectors on a device. Where BGA devices are involved, and there is little opportunity to visually inspect, or physically probe the connections, the value of a JTAG connection test is clear.

Non-JTAG Device Testing

Non-JTAG-compliant sections of a circuit can also be tested. Inputs to non-JTAG devices can be controlled via JTAG wherever these share nets connected JTAG-compliant devices. Similarly the outputs of non-JTAG devices can be read back via JTAG devices. The designer’ knowledge of the expected operation of the non-JTAG-compliant sections will therefore allow them to construct and execute a tests via JTAG that exercise the functionality of the devices.

This form of testing can be applied either to a single non-JTAG device or to any cluster of non-JTAG devices in the circuit which can be viewed as a functional unit. One important example of this method is memory testing. A sequence of JTAG test signals is created to manipulate the control signals and address and data busses of a memory device so as to write information into memory; a second sequence of test signals is created to read this information back.

In-System Programming

Many modern programmable devices, such as FPGAs and CPLDs, implement JTAG not only to facilitate boundary scan testing, but also with additional functionality to allow them to be programmed after they have been attached to a PCB.

Other devices, such as flash memories, can be programmed indirectly through their connection to devices in the JTAG chain.

The ability to use JTAG to program devices ‘in system’ avoids the need to buy expensive programmers and socket. There is also the advantage of being able to easily update the memory image held on the device.

Design for Test

JTAG can be a valuable tool throughout the lifecycle of a circuit. JTAG can help designers, production test engineers and field test engineers.

Effectiveness depends on the coverage that a suite of JTAG tests is able to achieve. The potential is partly inherent in the circuit but can be maximised by the care taken by the designer in designing for test.

A full set of Design For Test (DFT) guidelines is available from the XJTAG web site. However, as a starting point ensure that all JTAG-compliant devices are properly connected and that an appropriate Test Access Port (TAP) has been designed into the circuit.

Resources

JTAG Technical Overview, TAP signals, Boundary Scan Instructions

Technical Guide to JTAG

A low-level look at how JTAG is implemented


what is JTAG?

What is JTAG?

And how can I make use of it?


Design for Test techniques

Design for Testability (DFT) Guidelines

Suggestions for improving the testability of circuits


circuit design, development, manufacturing, service

JTAG Testing with XJTAG

How XJTAG extends the possibilities of JTAG


Boundary-Scan Description Language

Boundary-Scan Description Language (BSDL) files

Links to manufacturers’ websites


Memory testing

Testing non-JTAG devices


JTAG, SVF

Serial Vector Format (SVF) files

Want to be the first to know of new eBooks and JTAG Resources?

Find out how XJTAG can help you test your PCB faster
From Prototype To Manufacture